National Committee of Management

President, Kate Alway

“Kate was elected onto the Committee of Management in 2020 and became the AUWU President in June 2021. In her first month with the AUWU in 2020, Kate started the Bullshit Jobs reading group, ran the Chatswood protest of Indue, Centrelink and Max Employment in No Excuse For Poverty Week and helped found the Greater Sydney branch. With a background of twenty years of activism and community building in several related fields, experience in collectives, committees and boards at many levels and diverse studies with a specialty in education for social change, she seeks to change the way we understand employment and unemployment, to improve both the lives of unemployed people and the world around us. She sees her role in the Committee of Management as part of the same fight, smoothing out bureaucratic bumps in the road and making sure the signs are helpful so we can all keep pushing forward together.”

Vice-President, Oliver Leverton

“Oli is a long term member and Vice-President of the AUWU. They were previously the Melbourne Branch Coordinator and before that a member of Dole Action Group, a grass-roots campaign group for abolishing Work-For-the-Dole. They are an anti-capitalist activist that participates in efforts to build community power, and are a member of Collective Action. Plus, they are a DJ on the side.”

Secretary, Nijole Naujokas

“Nijole Naujokas has been an activist in South Australia for over a decade. She has worked extensively on campaigns for the South Australian Feminist Collective, Stop Income Management in Playford, Anti-Poverty Network SA, and the AUWU. She has written opinion pieces for The Guardian and held information workshops regarding issues with the ParentsNext policy. Having completed her Bachelor’s degree in English and Creative Writing, she is currently doing Honours in Creative Writing.”

Treasurer, Owen Bennett

“Owen Bennett is the co-founder of the Australian Unemployed Workers’ Union. He was the founding AUWU President in 2015 and is currently writing a PhD on trade unions and unemployment in Australia. He currently works at the United Workers’ Union part-time as an member rights officer.”

Ordinary Member, Tracey Smallwood

“Tracey has been running and training people for the Advocacy Hotline since 2018 and joined the committee of management in June 2021. Tracey has been awarded a BA in Psychology & Sociology WollongongUni, Bachelor of Criminology and Criminal Justice Open Uni, MA Forensic Psychology Adelaide Uni. Passionate one eye Crows member. Assistant State Secretary SA Greens.”

Ordinary Member, Dominic Wy Kanak

Dominic joined the Committee of Management in June 2021. He has been an Indigenous boondiboondi Bondi Ward Waverley Greens Councillor since September 1999. He has been Co-Chairperson of Waverley Council’s Multicultural Advisory Committee and Mayor’s Nominee and Chairman of the Eastern Region Local Government Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Forum on behalf of Woollahra, Waverley, Randwick, Botany Bay, City of Sydney and Leichhardt Councils.  His policy interests include Protection of Community/Native Title/Crown Land & Water, Reconciliation, Constitutional Recognition for Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Peoples and Local Government, ‘Green’ Sustainability, and Social Justice Advocacy for Our Community’s vulnerable marginalised and isolated People.

Ordinary Member, Vacant

If you would like to apply to become a member of the association (this will enable you to be able to vote and nominate at AGMs) please fill out this form here.